Auxiliary Awards

Auxiliaries make an invaluable contribution to the RCH.

To recognise the support of members dedicated to helping the hospital, the Auxiliaries Executive Committee supports three award programs.

Madge Tate Service Award

Established in 1994, the Madge Tate Service Award is the highest honour an Auxiliaries member can receive, recognising dedicated and extraordinary service to both the
Auxiliaries and the RCH.

The award is named after the late Madge Tate who was a member of Croydon Auxiliary from 1932 until her passing in 1992. The award is a means of recognising dedicated and extraordinary service to the Auxiliaries. For many of those years, Mrs Tate served as either President or Secretary of the Croydon Auxiliary, overcoming obstacles of distance, family commitments and at times, ill-health to make an outstanding 60-year contribution to the RCH.

Dr Miriam (Mim) Weisz OAM, the Immediate Past President of the RCH Auxiliaries was the recipient of the 2022 Madge Tate Service Award. Mim has been involved with the Auxiliaries for over six years and in this time has had a profound and lasting impact.

Read more about Mim.
View a full list of current Madge Tate Service Award Recipients.



Living Treasures Award

The RCH Auxiliaries honour outstanding members with the annual Living Treasures Award.

This award recognises the exceptional contribution of diverse Auxiliary members who have demonstrated excellence, leadership and commitment in fundraising for the hospital.

The Living Treasures Award was officially launched in 2004 to honour Auxiliary members who have gone above and beyond in their quest to support sick children and the work of the RCH Auxiliaries.

View a full list of Auxiliaries Living Treasures Award recipients.

Long service Awards

Long Service Awards are given to members in five year increments, with Auxiliary members receiving their first award after five years of service.

These awards celebrate the longstanding and dedicated support of Auxiliary members.

View the full list of current long service award holders.

Dame Elisabeth Murdoch Nursing Development Scholarship

Dame Elisabeth Murdoch AC DBE was closely associated with the RCH and the Auxiliaries, supporting many important projects that have helped shape this great children’s hospital.

The Dame Elisabeth Murdoch Nursing Development Scholarship was created in 2009 by the Auxiliaries’ Executive Committee to advance the fine talent of RCH nurses and to ensure that the RCH continues to be at the forefront of world-class practice.

Dame Elisabeth generously gave her name to this scholarship in perpetuity. Each year, the $50,000 scholarship allows one outstanding nurse to enhance his or her skills and experience by exploring innovative practices and models of care across Australia and internationally, while ensuring Dame Elisabeth’s remarkable legacy carries on.

Read about the 2022 Dame Elisabeth Murdoch Nursing Development Scholarship recipient, Eloise Borello.